Select Page

Job Seekers - Achev - Connecting Skilled Newcomers with Employers 2
Job Seekers - Achev - Connecting Skilled Newcomers with Employers 2
Job Seekers - Achev - Connecting Skilled Newcomers with Employers 2
Freedom Heart Ukraine

Freeland easily wins re-election

Sep 23, 2021 | Canada, Featured

Most CUPFG Executive and Board returning

NP-UN, National Affairs Desk.

Deputy Prime Minister Chrystia Freeland coasted to an easy victory in her University-Rosedale constituency, as the ruling Liberals won another minority government on September 20 with the numbers virtually unchanged from the 2019 election.

With 77 out 0f 78 polls reporting Freeland was leading her NDP opponent by 47% to 25% of the vote.

As of 4pm EDT on Tuesday, September 21, Liberals were elected or leading in 158 ridings (a pickup of one seat from the 2019 results), Conservatives in 119 (a loss of two), the Bloc Quebecois 34 (a gain of two), the New Democratic Party 25 (a gain of one) and the Green two (a loss of one).

These numbers could change however as 18 constituencies were too close to call and may be decided by mail-in ballots. According to the latest data from Elections Canada, nearly 1.3 million mail-in ballots were sent to voters this year and 951,039 had been returned as of September 20 morning. However, that number was expected to rise as mail-in ballots could be returned up to the moment polls closed.

Included among those undecided races were two members of the Canada-Ukraine Parliamentary Friendship Group (CUPFG) Executive and Board.

Secretary Julie Dzerowicz, MP (Lib, Davenport) and Director Irek Kusmierczyk, (Lib, Windsor—Tecumseh) were maintaining slim leads over their NDP opponents.

Director Raj Saini, (Lib, Kitchener Centre) was defeated by Green candidate Mike Morrice, while Director Arif Virani, (Lib, Parkdale—High Park) eked out a narrow victory over the NDP’s Paul Taylor.

For the rest of the Executive and Board seeking re-election, it was easy sailing.

CUPFG Chair Yvan Baker, (Lib) took Etobicoke Centre with 47% of the vote to the Conservative 35.6% and Liberal Vice Chair James Maloney won neighbouring Etobicoke-Lakeshore also with 47%.

Conservative Vice Chair James Bezan took Selkirk-Interlake-Eastman with 57% of the vote to 19% for his NDP opponent, BQ Vice Chair Stéphane Bergeron, MP won Montraville with 45.4% to 34.6 for the Liberals and NDP Vice Chair Heather McPherson took Edmonton Strathcona with 60% to 26% for the Conservative.

Treasurer Cathay Wagantall (Con, Yorkton-Melville) was re-elected with a whopping 70% of the vote.

As for the remaining Directors: Han Dong (Lib, Don Valley North) won 55% of the vote to the Conservative’s 29.7%; Terry Duguid (Lib, Winnipeg South) took 47% of the vote to the Conservative’s 34%; Rosemarie Falk (Con, Battlefords—Lloydminster) won 69.4% to her nearest opponent’s 11.5%; Peter Fonseca, M.P. Mississauga East—Cooksville took 49.3% to 32.5% for the Conservative; Kevin Lamoureux (Lib, Winnipeg North) took 52.3% to the NDP’s 28.4%; and Gerald Soroka (Con, Yellowhead) won 66.2% of the vote versus 12.8% for the People’s Party (PPC) candidate.

David Yurdiga (Con, Fort McMurray—Cold Lake) did not run for re-election but the riding was won by another Canadian of Ukrainian origin, Laila Goodridge who won 67.4% for the Conservatives versus 12.8% for the PPC.

Ukrainian Canadian Kelly McCauley easily won Edmonton West, while the NDP’s Wayne Stetski went down to defeat in Kootenay-Columbia.

Share on Social Media

Historians and the War
Serving Ukrainian New Comers in Toronto

Events will be approved within 2 business days after submission. Please contact us if you have any questions.

Manage Subsctiption

Check your subscription status, expiry dates, billing and shipping address, and more in your subscription account.